Moffat Explains “Series 1”

New Doctor Who show runner Steven Moffat has explained in the new Doctor Who Magazine just why the series is titled “Series 1” rather than “Series 5”.

(Note: Kasterborous prefers the traditional numbering – the 2005 return of the series should be considered season 27, this years run should be considered season 31).

Many fans have expressed bewilderment at the titling of the Matt Smith run – given that the first Russell T Davies’-stewarded series of Doctor Who was called “Series 1” and starred Christopher Eccleston, and Davies’ second series (starring David Tennant) was labelled “Series 2” it made sense for many fans to call the first run of Matt Smith’s time in the TARDIS “Series 5”.

Not so, says Moffat:

“It’s Series Thirty-One of Doctor Who, and it’s Series One of Matt Smith’s Doctor, Those are both real numbers. I submit that ‘Series Five of Doctor Who’ means absolutely nothing unless you really believe that Matt Smith is the third Doctor.
Everyone knows he’s the Eleventh Doctor so that means it’s definitely not ‘Series Five’. Whichever number you choose, ‘Series Five’ is the one that’s flawed.”

Interesting to see Series/Season 31 coming into use, as per both DWM and now Moffat himself.

I’m not saying they’re following our lead, but at the end of the day, it makes sense, doesn’t it?


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment