Vworp Vworp Preview

Vworp Vworp! is out soon, priced £5.99!

Vworp Vworp! is available for pre-order as we speak from the dedicated website at www.vworpvworp.co.uk – and with a host of Doctor Who Magazine related tributes is the must-buy fanzine of 2010!

Having been fortunate to have a sneak peak (The Time Leech makes its print debut in Vworp Vworp!) at the whole issue, I’m in a great position to let you know what to look out for.

First off, there’s the interview with Dez Skinn – the man who made it all possible by being the driving force behind Doctor Who Weekly back in 1979. This is a chap who is considered something of an industry legend; he’s extremely knowledgable as well as having a very clear sense of what works and what doesn’t, and does a good job of recalling events from over 30 years ago!

Look out also for excellent in depth features on classic Doctor Who Magazine strips The Cybermen (featuring interviews with writer Alan Barnes, artist Adrian Salmon and editor Gary Russell) and the final adventure for the Eighth Doctor, The Flood (featuring Scott Gray, Martin Geraghty, Adrian Salmon and Clayton Hickman).

Meanwhile, Veni Vidi Vici examines the classic Fourth Doctor strip The Iron Legion, with creators Dave Gibbons and Pat Mills as well as contributions from Dez Skinn, David Lloyd and Leon Hewitt.

There’s more than just talk about comic strips – along with Time Leech, Vworp Vworp! also features actual strips in the shape of Silurian vs Ice Warriors tale Clash of Empires written and illustrated by Daryl Joyce and The Master’s Life on Mars by Gareth Kavanagh and John Daiker!

Contributors to the fanzine include many media/Who luminaries, writers, artists, scholars and broacasters, as well as up and coming comic writers and artists: Justin Abbot, Dan Abnett, John Ainsworth, Peter Anghelides, Matt Badham, Alan Barnes, Jeremy Bentham, Richard Bignell, Lee Binding, Daniel Blythe, Christian Cawley, Mike Collins, John Daiker, Rob Davis, Paul Farnsworth, Bob Fischer, John Freeman, Martin Geraghty, Dave Gibbons, Lisa Gledhill, Scott Gray, Paul Grist, Toby Hadoke, Leon Hewitt, Clayton Hickman, David J Howe, Dicky Howett, Daryl Joyce, Graham Kibble-White, Roger Langridge, Joseph Lidster, David Lloyd, Sean Longcroft, Steve Lyons, Paul Magrs, Dan McDaid, Nick Miller, Pat Mills, Jonathan Morris, Steve Noble, Leighton Noyes, Steve O’Brien, James Offredi, Lance Parkin, Alister Pearson, Nicholas Pegg, Andrew Pixley, Marc Platt, Tim Quinn, Justin Richards, David Richardson, John Ridgway, Gary Russell, Gavin Rymill, Adrian Salmon, Nick Setchfield, Rob Shearman, Dez Skinn, Dale Smith, Baxter Sullivan, Lee Sullivan, Kev F Sutherland, Matthew Sweet, Ben Templesmith, Brian A Terranova, Peter Ware and Ben Willsher.

Orders can be made for copies of either or both versions of Vworp Vworp! – there are two covers (preview cover 1 or preview cover 2), pictured above which are both priced at £5.99 (plus p+p) direct from www.vworpvworp.co.uk!

(Oh and there’s now a blog on the Vworp Vworp! website – check it out for some “development hell”…)


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment