Telos Win Award

Telos Publishing have announced that they scooped the Silver Award in the Performing Arts category at ForeWord Magazine’s Book of the Year Awards, announced at BookExpo America in New York last week.

It Lives Again! from Telos PublishingThe winning title was Axelle Carolyn’s It Lives Again!, an analysis of the modern horror film.

ForeWord Reviews‘ Book of the Year Awards were established to bring increased attention to librarians and booksellers of the literary and graphic achievements of independent publishers and their authors. ForeWord is the only review trade journal devoted exclusively to books from independent houses.

Telos Publishing been around for several years now, originally formed by David J. Howe and Stephen James Walker, whose names you may recognise from some of the best accounts of Doctor Who history. Telos – named after the Cyberman planet in Tomb of the Cybermen – have published a wide variety of works, from novellas based on Doctor Who to a range of original horror and fantasy novels, as well as unofficial guide books to popular TV and movie series.

Telos Publishing’s David J Howe commented on the award, saying:

‘We’re delighted that Axelle Carolyn’s book was considered worthy by the judges of this award. We tried to ensure that textually and visually it presented the best overview of the subject that it could, and it’s great that all the hard work has been recognised in this way.’

ForeWord’s founder and publisher, Victoria Sutherland, spoke at the awards ceremony:

‘This year more than ever before, we heard from the judges how great the finalist books were and how difficult it was to make their decisions,’ she said. ‘Despite this tough economy, independent publishers are producing some of the best books out there, and we are happy to honour them today.’

The award process brings readers, librarians, and booksellers together to select their top categories as well as choose the winning titles. Their decisions are based on editorial excellence, professional production, originality of the narrative, author credentials relative to the book, and the value the book adds to its genre.

ForeWord named 201 Book of the Year Award winners in 60 categories. These books, representing the best independently published works from 2009, were selected by a panel of librarian and bookseller judges.

Order copies of It Lives Again! direct from Telos Publishing.


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment