Steven Moffat, writer of Doctor Who and Sherlock

Doctor Who vs Sherlock at the NTAs!

Twelve months ago Doctor Who, Matt Smith and Karen Gillan, were up against Torchwood, John Barrowman and Eve Myles. This time around, the series goes up against another of its stablemates!

Steven Moffat, writer of Doctor Who and Sherlock

As you might have guessed, Doctor Who and Sherlock have both been nominated at the National Television Awards’ Drama category, along with Downton Abbey and Merlin.

Meanwhile Doctor Who star Matt Smith and Sherlock star Benedict Cumberbatch up against Merlin’s Colin Morgan (Midnight‘s Jethro) and Daniel Mays (Night Terrors‘ Alex), who starred in ITV1’s Mrs Biggs.

And there is also a nomination for Karen Gillan who is nominated in the drama performance female category, where the Amy Pond actress is up against other actresses with a Doctor Who link: Miranda Hart of BBC One’s Call The Midwife (appearing in Series 7b), Suranne Jones (The Doctor’s Wife) for Scott & Bailey and Sheridan Smith (audio companion of the Eighth Doctor) for Mrs Biggs.

Last year Matt Smith and Karen Gillan won their categories. Can they repeat the feat this time around?

Here’s the full list of Doctor Who-related nominations.


  • Doctor Who
  • Downton Abbey
  • Merlin
  • Sherlock

Drama performance male:

  • Benedict Cumberbatch – Sherlock
  • Daniel Mays – Mrs Biggs
  • Colin Morgan – Merlin
  • Matt Smith – Doctor Who

Drama performance female:

  • Karen Gillan – Doctor Who
  • Miranda Hart – Call the Midwife
  • Suranne Jones – Scott & Bailey
  • Sheridan Smith – Mrs Biggs

The National Television Awards are voted for by the public and take place at the O2 Arena on Wednesday, 23rd January. You can vote at

(Last updated 4.15pm)


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment