Doctor Who Doesn’t Win BAFTA…

…but many guest actors do! (Although the 50th anniversary compilation was quite nice.)

Last night’s backslapping contest saw lots of Doctor Who-related personnel picking up nominations and awards, with Harry Lloyd (Human Nature/The Family of Blood) and Peter Capaldi (Fires of Pompeii) among the losers.

Jenna-Louise Coleman and Steven Moffat were both in attendance, the former presenting an award, the lead up to which can be seen below.

Winners who have appeared in Doctor Who include Hugh Bonneville (The Curse of the Black Spot) and Olivia Colman (The Eleventh Hour), both for 2012 (narrated by David Tennant), although Colman also picked up a BAFTA for a drama performance. Additionally, Last Tango in Halifax, starring Sir Derek Jacobi (Utopia‘s Professor Yana/The Master), Ann Reid (Smith and Jones) and Sarah Lancashire (Partners in Crime) also won an award.

For a very tenuous Whovian link, Michael Palin – who was once believed to be attached to a Doctor Who movie project in the 1980s/90s – won the Lifetime Achievement BAFTA.

Oh and potty mouthed Sheridan Smith (audio companion Lucie Miller) won the Best Actress award for Mrs Biggs.

And a bar of soap, we hope…


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment