Neil Gaiman Writes Nothing O’Clock for 50th Anniversary eBook Range

The eleventh and final instalment in a sensational series of stories celebrating the  50th anniversary of Doctor Who is written by Neil Gaiman, best-selling author of The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Stardust, Neverwhere, The Graveyard Book and Coraline.

To celebrate Doctor Who‘s 50th anniversary on 23rd November 2013, Puffin and BBC Worldwide has published a series of eleven eBook shorts based on each of the Eleven Doctors. This series is priced at £1.99 and commenced January, concluding this month. With each story has been written by a different author, the range has brought together some of the most exciting names in children’s fiction, from commercial blockbusters to literary award-winners (see the list at the end of this post for details). These authors have brought their own interpretation and reimagining of their chosen Doctor, creating a unique Doctor Who adventure in their own inimitable style.

Neil Gaiman (@neilhimself) is the bestselling author of more than twenty books for adults and children and has written the eleventh and final adventure in this series, based on the Eleventh Doctor played by Matt Smith (for whom he’s previously written two episodes, The Doctor’s Wife and Nightmare in Silver). Says Neil Gaiman:

Nothing O’Clock stars the Eleventh Doctor, the Matt Smith Doctor, with Amy Pond as his companion. I set it somewhere during the first season of Matt Smith, mostly on Earth, in our time now and in 1984, but also somewhere else, a very, very long time ago. I had never created an original monster for Doctor Who and really enjoyed getting to create a creepy Doctor Who monster of the kind that we haven’t quite seen before… I hope that the Kin will get out there and occasionally give people nightmares. And that you will be worried if a man in a rabbit mask comes to your door and tries to buy your house.

Here’s the book synopsis:

Thousands of years ago, Time Lords built a Prison for the Kin. They made it utterly impregnable and unreachable. As long as Time Lords existed, the Kin would be trapped forever and the universe would be safe. They had planned for everything… everything, that is, other than the Time War and the fall of Gallifrey. Now the Kin are free again and there’s only one Time Lord left in the universe who can stop them!


Nothing O’Clock is available now for £1.99. A paperback anthology (£12.99) and an audio download collection (£14.99) of the eleven stories, Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 stories, will be published on 21st November 2013 and can be ordered now from Amazon for just £7.19!

If you weren’t aware of this series of books, the full list of Doctors, authors and titles is as follows:

First Doctor, William Hartnell (1963-1966) – Eoin Colfer, A Big Hand For The Doctor (Jan 23rd)

Second Doctor, Patrick Troughton (1966-1969) – Michael Scott, The Nameless City (Feb 23rd)

Third Doctor, Jon Pertwee (1970-1974) – Marcus Sedgwick, The Spear of Destiny (Mar 23rd)

Fourth Doctor, Tom Baker (1974-1981) – Philip Reeve, The Roots of Evil (April 23rd)

Fifth Doctor, Peter Davison (1981-1984) – Patrick Ness, Tip of the Tongue (May 23rd)

Sixth Doctor, Colin Baker (1984-1986) – Richelle Mead, Something Borrowed (June 23rd)

Seventh Doctor, Sylvester McCoy (1987-1996) – Malorie Blackman, The Ripple Effect (July 23rd)

Eighth Doctor, Paul McGann (1996) – Alex Scarrow, Spore (Aug 23rd)

Ninth Doctor, Christopher Eccleston (2005) – Charlie Higson, The Beast of Babylon (Sept 23rd)

Tenth Doctor, David Tennant (2005-2010) – Derek Landy, The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage (Oct 23rd)

Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith (2010-present) – Neil Gaiman, Nothing O’Clock (Nov 21st)


Please note that responses to this post are subject to our comments policy.

© 2005-2015 Kasterborous. Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | SheKnows Media - Entertainment